Internships

My time at James Clarke & Co./ The Lutterworth Press

Hello everyone! My name is Olivia and I recently graduated from King’s College London with a BA in Religion, Philosophy and Ethics. After graduating I thought a lot about what I wanted to do as a career and decided that publishing was something that had been in the back of my mind for a while. Whilst I loved my course I was not so keen on essay writing and decided that academic publishing was a good way to continue learning about a subject that I love without the assessment aspect. James Clarke & Co./ The Lutterworth Press has a long history of publishing and so I decided that due to its wealth of experience it would be the perfect environment in which to learn about the industry.

I was so excited when I was offered a placement with the company beginning in January 2014. Living in London, it was refreshing to have the opportunity to work in a different city. Cambridge is so calm and quiet compared to the busy London atmosphere and I have loved the change of scene. I particularly like how open the sky seems and how beautiful it is (when it’s not raining!).

I have been entrusted with a variety of tasks since I arrived, such as writing press releases for forthcoming titles and chasing up reviews on published books. Having worked on the publicity for their January titles it was truly inspiring to see the finished product when they arrived at the office fresh from the printer. With their glossy covers and crisp white pages, it feels truly wonderful to have had the opportunity to see the process from manuscript to book. I feel like I have been given real responsibility and as a result I have learnt so much.

I am indebted to the company for everything they have done for me and hope that as I move forward in the industry I can use the wealth of knowledge I have cultivated here as a building block for future employment. As I look out the office window at the sunny day outside and reflect on my time here I am filled with sadness at the prospect of leaving this beautiful city and this wonderful company, without whose help I would not be in the position I am today. For anyone who wants to go into publishing, I urge you to apply to James Clarke & Co./ The Lutterworth Press.

Have a good weekend!

Olivia Carson

Leave a Reply

